Get Your Arkansas HVAC Contractors License

Pass your Arkansas HVAC contractors exam on your first attempt

Arkansas HVAC Contractors License

get arkansas contractors licenseHVAC Trade License: There are 5 separate classifications that cover HVAC/R work.Class A entitles the licensee to perform HVACR work without limitation to BTUH or HP capacities. Class B entitles the licensee to perform HVACR work on A/C systems that do not exceed a 15-ton cooling capacity or one million BTUH heating input per unit and refrigeration systems of 15 HP or less. Class C - Entitles the licensee, to service and repair heating, ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration equipment. To service, repair or replace components of HVACR equipment and to perform HVACR work on air conditioning systems of not more than 15 tons cooling capacity per unit or 1 million BTUH heating input per unit and refrigeration systems of 15 horse power or less per unit. A Class C license holder shall not install any original HVACR equipment or replace any existing HVACR equipment. Class D – Entitles the licensee to perform “Sheet metal” work as it relates to ductwork for HVACR system. There is no limitation of horse power of the system to which the duct connects. The license holder in this category is prohibited from the sale, installation and service of HVACR equipment and systems. Class E – Entitles the licensee to perform “Refrigeration” work as defined in Ark. Code 17-33-101 without limitation of horsepower. The license holder in this category is prohibited from the sale, installation and service of heating and air conditioning equipment used for the treatment of air for human comfort requirements.

 

Arkansas HVAC Contractors License Requirements

 

let us help you get your contractors licenseThe State of Arkansas requires a contractors license for all commercial and residential construction work of $20,000 or more. Pre-approval is required from the board before sitting for the examination. Applicants are required to show two years of experience. Applicants must receive Pre-Approval to test by submitting a completed application to the State HVACR Licensing Board. The Business Law exam is required if you are doing projects above $20,000. This additional exam makes you eligible for an HVAC Contractor's license. For jobs less than $20,000 applicants only need to pass the trade exam. Applicants must have two years experience for either classification. More info here.

 

Arkansas HVAC Contractors Fees

 

contractors license feesPre-approval from the board is required for testing. This is done my submitting a completed application. After the application is approved the State Licensing Board will notify you of a testing date. The examination fee is $35 for the paper-pencil exam or $75 for the computerized exam. It will cost you $100 nonrefundable to file an application for a commercial license. The license fee for the Class A license is $200.00 per year.
The license fee for the Class B license is $150.00 per year.

 

Arkansas HVAC Contractors Exam Details

 

contractor exam detailed informationPre-Approval for examinations is required for HVAC classification. The Business Law exam is required if you are doing projects above $20,000. This additional exam makes you eligible for an HVAC Contractor's license. For jobs less than $20,000 applicants only need to pass the trade exam. The Arkansas HVAC/R Class A exam has 100 questions and has a time limit of 4 hours while the Arkansas HVAC/R Class B exam has 50 questions and a time limit of 3 hours. The examinations are OPEN book. A score of 70% is needed to pass. More info here.

 

HVAC Exam Content

 

HVAC Principles, Terminology, Administration, and Safety
HVAC Installation Requirements
Venting, Duct, and Combustion Air
Gas Piping
HVAC Electrical
Boilers, Duct, and Electrical
Plan Analysis
Law and Administration


Total Number of Test Questions: 100


Time Allowed: 240 minutes

 

Books That Are Allowed Into The Exam

 

1. Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 19th Edition.     

 

2. Arkansas Fuel Gas Code, 2006 Edition, ICC.       

 

3. Arkansas Mechanical Code, 2010 Edition, ICC.   

 

4. National Electrical Code (NFPA-70), 2014, NFPA.         

 

5. Arkansas HVAC/R Law.     

 

6. Arkansas HVAC/R Rules and Regulations.

 

NOTE: If you are not currently a licensed contractor then you are required to take and pass BOTH the standard LAW exam and TRADE specific exam.

$199                               $249

order your trade examorder your law and trade exam

 

Arkansas HVAC Exam Home Study Kit $249

 

complete home study kit saleOur home study materials are available in either books with CD-ROMs version or online downloadable version. Our CD-ROM software is developed using the computer-assisted testing software, which means that no internet or prior computer experience is required. Both CD-ROM and instant online download versions are identical and cover everything you need to study and pass your contractors exam. The complete home study kit includes: both Business and Law & HVAC study manuals with over 200 pages of HVAC formulas, installation terminology, math examples, troubleshooting, and more. Plus, over a thousand of practice exam questions covering both Business and Law and HVAC exams. All orders also receive a complete contractors application review, 30-day online exam support, and 24/7 online applicant support.

 

Arkansas Contractors License Reciprocity

 

contractors license reciprocityThe State of Arkansas Licensing Board has reciprocity with Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama and Louisiana. You must complete a Request for Verification of License and Affidavit form. The reciprocity is for exam waiver only. More info can be found here.