Get Your California HVAC Contractors C-20 License

Pass your California HVAC contractors C-20 exam on your first attempt

California HVAC Contractors C-20 License

get california contractors licenseA warm-air heating, ventilating and air-conditioning contractor fabricates, installs, maintains, services and repairs warm-air heating systems and water heating heat pumps, complete with warm-air appliances; ventilating systems complete with blowers and plenum chambers; air-conditioning systems complete with air conditioning unit; and the ducts, registers, flues, humidity and thermostatic controls and air filters in connection with any of these systems. This classification shall include warm-air heating, ventilating and air-conditioning systems which utilize solar energy.


California HVAC License C-20 Requirements


let us help you get your contractors licenseIn the State of California certain requirements must be met in order for an applicant to receive their contractors license. You must meet the following experience requirements: you must have documented at least 4 years of performing/supervising of HVAC work experience. This experience must be at the journeyman, foreman or supervisor, contractor, or at the owner-builder level (Personal experience now accepted by the state). The state has changed some of the requirements and now allows for college degrees or trade school to be counted for up to 3 years of the required trade experience. A college degree can be substituted for up to three years of that experience. In order to obtain your HVAC contractors license, you are required to pass the HVAC examination as well as the Law & Business exam.


California HVAC Contractors License C-20 Fees


contractors license feesThe state of California has an initial application fee that is $330 for new and also for those that are reapplying contractors. There is an additional fee for the two-year license card, which is $200. After your application is approved by the Contractors State License Board, you will be notified of a testing date. Other requirements require that contractors must have at least $2,500 in working capital (this may be cash or equipment verifiable at the time of application submission). In addition, all applicants are required to file a bond with the Registrar in the amount of $10,000.


California HVAC License C-20 Exam Details


contractor exam detailed informationThe contractors exam can be currently scheduled and taken in: Berkeley, San Jose, Sacramento, Fresno, Oxnard, Norwalk, San Bernardino, and San Diego. Our study material includes hundreds of practice questions and covers all of the required topics found on the actual contractors exam. Both law and trade portions of the exam must be taken for those that are getting licensed for the first time. The actual contractors exam has 100-120 questions and a time limit of 2 -1/2 hours. Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination and around 70% is required to pass.


HVAC C-20 Exam Content


Planning, Engineering and Design
Fabrication, Installation and Start up
Troubleshooting, Repair, and Maintenance

Total Number of Test Questions: 100-120

Time Allowed: 150 minutes


Books Are NOT Allowed Into The Exam


1. Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning. Althouse, A.D., Turnquist, C.H., & Bracciano, A.F. Goodheart-Willcox Company.       


2. Heating and Cooling Essentials. Killinger, J. & Killinger, L., Goodheart-Willcox Company.          


3. HVAC Duct Construction Standards – Metal and Flexible. Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors’ National Association.


4. 2016 California Building Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Code Council.


5. 2016 California Energy Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Code Council.


6. 2016 California Electrical Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. BNI Publications, Inc.


7. 2016 California Mechanical Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO).


8. State of California General Industry & Electrical Safety Orders (Cal/OSHA) and State of California Construction Safety Orders (Cal/OSHA). 2015. California Code of Regulations, Title 8. Mancomm.       


9. Manual D - Residential Duct Systems. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.


10. Manual J - Residential Load Calculation. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.


11. Manual H - Heat Pump Systems. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.     


12. Manual P - Psychrometrics. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.


13. Manual CS - Commercial Applications, Systems and Equipment. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.


14. Manual RS - Comfort, Air Quality, and Efficiency by Design. Air Conditioning Contractors of America.


NOTE: If you are not currently a licensed contractor then you are required to take and pass BOTH the standard LAW exam and TRADE specific exam.

$199                               $249

order your trade examorder your law and trade exam


California HVAC C-20 Home Study Kit $249


complete home study kit saleOur home study materials are available in either books with CD-ROMs version or online downloadable version. Our CD-ROM software is developed using the computer-assisted testing software, which means that no internet or prior computer experience is required. Both CD-ROM and instant online download versions are identical and cover everything you need to study and pass your contractors exam. The complete home study kit includes: both law/business & HVAC study manuals with over 200 pages of HVAC formulas, installation terminology, math examples, troubleshooting, and more. Plus, over a thousand of practice exam questions covering both law/business and HVAC exams. All orders also receive a complete contractors application review, 30-day online exam support, and 24/7 online applicant support.


California Contractors License Reciprocity


contractors license reciprocityThe following states have reciprocity with the State of California: Arizona, Nevada and Utah. The contractor must be applying for a license in a classification that appears on that state's reciprocal classifications list. The contractor must have held an active license in good standing in one of the reciprocal states for the previous five years. The contractor must also submit to CSLB the Request for Verification of License form that is completed by the licensing entity under which he or she is already licensed. The contractor must complete the Application for Original Contractors License.