Get Your Louisiana HVAC Contractors License

Pass your Louisiana HVAC contractors exam on your first attempt

Louisiana HVAC Contractors License

get louisiana contractors licenseA Mechanical Contractor is authorized to install or service and repair or replace heating and air conditioning systems including natural gas heating and air conditioning appliances. Also includes specifically the servicing, repair, or replacement of those appliances in manufactured housing set up as stationary housing, but excluding the piping to such appliances.

 

Louisiana HVAC Contractors License Requirements

 

let us help you get your contractors licenseThere are no specific experience requirements in Louisiana. However financial requirements do exist: The applicant must provide the board with a financial statement, current and within 12 months of the date of filing, prepared by an auditor and signed before a notary public, proving the current assets of the applicant, which will be used by the board to determine financial responsibility of the applicant to perform in the State of Louisiana, which is $10,000 or more for HVAC work. Such assets shall include a net worth of at least $10,000. Contractors usually have to post a bond equal to 5% of the contract price for any lump sum or cost-plus contract. The minimum bond amount is $1,000. A Residential Building Contractor's license is required for residences three stories or less in height if the cost of the project is more than $50,000. More info here.

 

Louisiana HVAC Contractors Fees

 

contractors license feesThe total cost for licensing and examination is $265 ($100 for license classification, $25 transaction fee, $60 per person Business and Law study guide fee and $100 examination/verification fee). The exam costs $100 for each classification you take an exam in. You also have to pay the Board $60 for study material for the business and law part of the exam. A license costs $100 for any one classification and $95 for each additional classification. The maximum you can pay for a license in multiple classifications is $300. All licenses are good for one year and expire on December 31st each year. The Licensing Board investigates all out-of-state contractors before licensing them. You must pay a $400 surcharge to cover the costs of this investigation. You also must wait around 60 days from the date of your application while the Board completes the investigation prior to continuing the process.

 

Louisiana HVAC Contractors Exam Details

 

contractor exam detailed informationThe Board requires you to pass two exams in order to get a contractors license. The contractors exam has a business and law section and a trade section.The Louisiana Contractors Licensing Board gives the exam. Mechanical Work (Statewide) is a closed book examination with 100 multiple-choice questions which are equally weighted. You will have four hours to complete this examination. A calculator will be provided for use during the examination. A 70% is required to pass. A candidate may request three dates upon which he or she will be available to take the examination. An attempt will be made to accommodate the candidate. New applicants for licensure will be given priority in scheduling. Examinations will not be scheduled unless you submit your application along with all of the required documentation. More info here.

HVAC Exam Content

 

Plumbing and Gas Piping
Project Management, Estimating and Plan Reading
HVAC and Refrigeration Systems
Air Distribution Systems and Ventilation
Piping Systems and Hydronics (Commercial, Residential, and Industrial) Instrumentation (Controls, Balancing)
Solar and Alternative Energy Systems


Total Number of Test Questions: 100


Time Allowed: 240 minutes

 

Books Are NOT Allowed Into The Exam

 

1. Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning; Althouse, A. D., et al; Goodheart-Willcox Publisher; Tinley Park, IL.


2. Trane Air Conditioning Manual, Trane Company.

 

3. 2012  International Mechanical Code; International Code Council; Country Club Hills, IL; 2011.


4. AHRI Fundamentals of HVAC/R; Stanfield, Carter and Skaves, David; AHRI Air–Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute; Prentice-Hall, Pearson Education, Inc.; Upper Saddle River, NJ; 2010


5. Managing the Construction Process, Fourth Edition; Gould, Frederick; Prentice-Hall, Pearson Education, Inc.; Upper Saddle River, NJ; 2011.

 

6. Solar Water Heating Systems: Fundamentals and Installation; International Pipe Trades Joint Training Committee, Inc.; American Technical Publishers; Annapolis, MD; 2013.

 

7. Basic Plumbing with Illustrations, Revised Edition; Massey, Howard C.; Craftsman Book Company; Carlsbad, CA; 1997.

 

8. MCAA Project Manager’s Manual; Mechanical Contractors Association of America; Rockville, MD; 2006.

 

NOTE: If you are not currently a licensed contractor then you are required to take and pass BOTH the standard LAW exam and TRADE specific exam.

$199                              $249

order your trade examorder your law and trade exam

 

Louisiana HVAC Contractors Exam Home Study Kit $249

 

complete home study kit saleOur home study materials are available in either books with CD-ROMs version or online downloadable version. Our CD-ROM software is developed using the computer-assisted testing software, which means that no internet or prior computer experience is required. Both CD-ROM and instant online download versions are identical and cover everything you need to study and pass your contractors exam. The complete home study kit includes: both Business and Law & HVAC study manuals with over 200 pages of HVAC formulas, installation terminology, math examples, troubleshooting, and more. Plus, over a thousand of practice exam questions covering both Business and Law and HVAC exams. All orders also receive a complete contractors application review, 30-day online exam support, and 24/7 online applicant support.

 

Louisiana Contractors License Reciprocity

 

contractors license reciprocityThe following states have reciprocity with the states of Louisiana: Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Texas, Utah as well as the North Carolina Electrical Examiners' Board. The Business and Law examination cannot be waived for out-of-state contractors. However, reciprocity is not automatic, applications will be considered on an individual basis. The contractor must be applying for a license in a classification that appears on that state's reciprocal classifications list.