Get Your Utah Contractors License

Pass your Utah Business and Law contractors exam on your first attempt

Utah Business and Law

get utah contractors licenseAll qualifying individuals must pass the standard Business and Law examination; in addition, qualifying individuals must pass a second test covering the specific trade or certification area for which they are applying. The Business and Law examination consists of multiple choice questions related to business management and construction law. Applicants can find information below on the breakdown of the topics covered in the examination.

 

Utah Contractors License Requirements

 

let us help you get your contractors licenseA contractors license is required in Utah for any project that exceeds $1,000. To become a licensed contractor candidates will have to sit for two exams, business and law and their trade. To do construction work in Utah you need a contractors license from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Electricians and plumbers have to be licensed. To qualify for any license, you must: provide proof of at least $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 total liability insurance, provide proof of workers' compensation insurance, provide registration with Utah State Tax Commission, provide proof of registration with Utah Department of Employment Security, provide proof of registration with the Internal Revenue Service, provide proof of registration with Utah Division of Corporations, provide proof of DBA registration with Utah Division of Corporations, submit CPA complied, reviewed, or audited financial statement, submit three credit reports for all key company personnel. Some licenses also require you to pay $195 to the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. More info here.

 

Utah Contractors Fees

 

contractors license feesTo become a licensed contractor in Utah, candidates will have to pass two exams, business and law and the trade. Even if you are obtaining your license through reciprocity, you must also pass a business and law exam and a trade exam. It will cost you $210 nonrefundable to file an application for a primary classification license. The supplemental classification application fee is $100. The business and law exam will cost you $72. Each trade exam costs $72.

 

Utah Business and Law Exam Details

 

contractor exam detailed informationThe first step in the licensure process is to pass the required exams. Pre-approval is not required. To qualify for the exams for most trades, you must have at least two years of full-time related work experience in any trade you want to get a license for. Business and Law has 60 questions and a time limit of 2 hours. Minimum score of 70% is required to pass. More info here.

Business and Law Exam Content

 

Business Organizations
Licensing
Estimating and Bidding
Contract Management
Project Management
Labor Laws
Lien Laws
Financial Management
Risk Management
Tax Laws
Safety


Total Number of Test Questions: 60


Time Allowed: 120 minutes

 

Books That Are Allowed Into The Exam

 

1. Utah Contractor's Guide to Business, Law and Project Management Reference Manual, 3rd Edition, NASCLA.

 

NOTE: If you are not currently a licensed contractor then you are required to take and pass BOTH the standard LAW exam and TRADE specific exam.

$149

order your law exam

 

Utah Business and Law Exam Home Study Kit $149

 

complete home study kit saleOur home study materials are available in either books with CD-ROMs version or online downloadable version. Our CD-ROM software is developed using the computer-assisted testing software, which means that no internet or prior computer experience is required. Both CD-ROM and instant online download versions are identical and cover everything you need to study and pass your Business and Law contractors exam. The complete home study kit includes: Business and Law study manual with over 200 pages related to business management and construction law, financial, record keeping, math examples, estimating, safety, and more. Plus 500 hundred of exam practice questions with detailed explanations to all Business and Law exam practice questions. All orders also receive a complete contractors application review, 30-day online exam support, and 24/7 online applicant support.

 

Utah Contractors License Reciprocity

 

contractors license reciprocityThe following are the Reciprocal Contractors License Classifications for Utah: Arizona, California, Louisiana, Nevada, and South Carolina. The contractor must be applying for a license in a classification that appears on that state's reciprocal  list. The contractor must have held an active license in good standing in one of the reciprocal states for the previous five years. The contractor must complete the Application for Original Contractor's License. More info here.